Nepal IGF Secretariat


Internet Society Nepal Chapter, Forum for Digital Equality and the High Level Commission on Information Technology conducted the first formal discussion on Internet Governance in 27th November just before the Hyderabad IGF. Various government bodies, organizations, associations and agencies have been involved in IG discussion at different names and forms.

Right before APrIGF 2016, some of major stakeholders (DoIT, ISOC Nepal, FDE, ISPAN and IOE) had a meeting at Department of Information Technology on conducting a full stakeholder’s meeting for wider consultation. An informal meeting with IGF MAG Chair Lynn St. Amour, and NRI’s focal Anja Genjo was held during ICANN 57 [5th November 2016] in Hyderabad, India. Mr. Subhash Dhakal, Director of Department of Information Technology, Mr. Babu Ram Aryal, President of Forum for Digital Equality, Mr. Bikram Shrestha, President of ISOC Nepal Chapter and Mr. Suman Lal Pradhan, President of ISP Association of Nepal were part of the meeting and discussed the fundamental principles of IGF and strategies on forming national IGFs.

After a series of background discussions and workout, after almost 8 years finally a stakeholder’s meeting was held on 21st February, 2017 at Department of Information Technology and adopted Declaration of Nepal IGF and Standard Operating Procedure of Multi-stakeholder Steering Group (MSG). The meeting also formed first Ad Hoc MSG and the leaders of MSG.

News and Events

Request to Registration for Participation on Nepal IGF 2017

Publish on: August 8, 2017

Request interested participants to submit this form to participant Nepal IGF 2017 at Hotel Yellow Pagoda, Kantipath. REGISTRATION

read more

Call for workshop proposals

Publish on: July 26, 2017

Workshop Submission Deadline August 10, 2017

read more

Nepal IGF declaration has been signed

Publish on: September 7, 2016

Nepal IGF declaration has been signed by on Feb 21, 2017 in an event at Department of Information Technology, Government of Nepal, Thapagaun, Kathmandu, Nepal. The declaration was signed by 23 person from Six different stakeholder group.

read more